Sixpence None The Richer – Breathe Your Name (Official Music Video HD)

Artist: Sixpence None the Richer Song: Breathe Your Name Album: Divine Discontent (2002) Genres: Pop rock, Pop, Dream pop, Christian music Website Members Leigh Nash Matt Slocum Justin Cary Sixpence None the Richer (also known as Sixpence) is an American rock band that formed in New Braunfels, Texas, eventually settling in Nashville, Tennessee. They are best known for their songs “Kiss Me” and “Breathe Your Name” and their covers of “Don’t Dream It’s Over” and “There She Goes”. The name of the band is inspired by a passage from the book Mere Christianity by CS Lewis. Guitarist/songwriter Matt Slocum met vocalist Leigh Nash in the early 1990s. They recorded a demo, which now circulates as “The Original Demos”, with bassist TJ Behling and drummer Brad Arnold at Verge Music Works recording studio in Dallas, and eventually an album, The Fatherless and the Widow, for the independent label REX Music in 1993. The record featured Chris Dodds (a member of Love Coma, in which Slocum also played guitar). Shortly after the release of The Fatherless and the Widow, Slocum left Love Coma to pursue Sixpence None the Richer full-time. The band added Tess Wiley (guitar) Joel Bailey (bass) and Dale Baker (drums) to tour in support of The Fatherless and The Widow. On this tour the band toured the US, opening for the Choir, the newly reformed 10000 Maniacs, Audio Adrenaline, Pray For Rain, Over The Rhine, and more. In the fall of 1994, the band left for their first tour of